has been decided upon in co-operation with other provinces and the Dominion Bureau of Statistics. The Mental Hygiene Act and the mental institutions established under its provisions in North Battleford, Weyburn, and Regina (psychopathic ward) are administered by the Department, and the internal operations of these institutions are supervised by the Commissioner of Mental Services.

Union Hospitals.—In Saskatchewan, in addition to the general hospitals, there exists a system known as the Union Hospital Organization, designed to furnish hospital accommodation in rural districts. Under the provisions of this plan, two or more municipalities may co-operate in building, equipping, and maintaining a hospital. Municipalities constituting a hospital district may enter into an agreement with the hospital board to provide free treatment for certain classes of patients, the cost being borne by the municipalities concerned.

Cancer Commission.—This Commission, created in 1930, consists of the Deputy Minister of Public Health as Chairman, together with two physicians as members, and a physician as secretary. Consultative diagnostic and treatment clinics have been established in Regina and Saskatoon, and 'radon' is manufactured at an emanation plant in Saskatoon. Close contact is maintained with current advances in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of cancer.

Health Services Board.—This Board consists of the Deputy Minister as Chairman, a representative of the Provincial College of Physicians and Surgeons, and a representative of the Association of Rural Municipalities. The Board is inquiring into the extent and administration of the various health services existing in the Province, collecting and studying data on the general situation regarding incidence of illness from all causes, considering methods for an equitable distribution of the costs of illness, and studying the needs of the people with respect to general health services and the necessity for co-ordination of those now existing. An advisory committee is associated with the Board, and consists of representatives of medical, hospital, and allied organizations.

Relief Medical Services Branch.—At the present time grants are paid to physicians, dentists, and approved hospitals, and arrangements have been made with the Red Cross Society and the Canadian National Institute for the Blind to provide, from government funds, drugs and optical supplies to residents of the drought area who are unable to pay for them. The medical officer in charge of the Relief Medical Services Branch, besides administering these grants, also supervises medical and allied services that come under the Bureau of Labour and Public Welfare and the Northern Settlers' Branch of the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Alberta.—The Department of Public Health, established by an Act of the Provincial Legislature in 1919, administers the following Acts: the Child Welfare Act, the Chiropody Act, the Department of Public Health Act, the Hospitals Act, the Sexual Sterilization Act, the Solemnization of Marriage Act, the Mental Diseases Act, the Mental Defectives Act, the Registered Nurses Act, the Public Health Nurses Act, the Public Health Act and Regulations, the Tuberculosis Act, the Optometry Act, the Mothers' Allowances Act, the Neglected Childrens Act, the Legitimation Act, the Maternal Welfare Act, the Chiropractic Act, the Poliomyelitis Sufferers Act, the Dental Association Act, the Municipal Hospitals Act, the Private Hospitals Act, the Medical Profession Act, the Alberta Pharmaceutical Act, the Venereal Diseases Prevention Act, the Vital Statistics Act, the Cemeteries Act, the Juvenile Delinquents Act, the University of Alberta Hospital Act, the Cancer Remedy Act, and the Cancer Treatment and Prevention Act.